Karma Series Overview

Most of your questions will be answered by carefully reading the following, so please do so before ordering and/or contacting us with additional questions.

Curriculum Outline

Below is the curriculum outline for the Karma award:

  1. Dharma
  2. Artha
  3. Kama
  4. Moksha

These are the four canons of Hinduism. They are introduced at a more advanced level. The structure is more formal, and a constant interaction with adults is emphasized.

Several advanced concepts such as Suddha Karma, daily puja, mantra recitation, scripture reading, and studying are emphasized.

Each canon involves a student with an independent project, puja, and other things to do. The study is comprehensive in nature and allows both student and mentor to go in-depth to the level of their own abilities.

Age Range

We recommend 13 and older for this program, but that is at your discretion.

Who is Involved?

Typically three persons are involved.

  1. The Student, who is working toward their Karma Award.
  2. The Mentor, who is called Karma Saathi, is the parent or guardian working side-by-side with the student. The mentor is also considered a “student”. The mentor may elect to complete a Saathi workbook and earn a Saathi award as well.
  3. The Counselor, who is called Karma Bhakta and is responsible for “guiding” the course.

Typically the Bhakta is a priest from a temple with which the mentors are associated. It is a generally accepted doctrine that a priest associated with a temple should be able to serve as a spiritual counselor.

However, a great diversity amongst Hinduism is recognized. We will accept any person knowledgeable in Hinduism and is so designated by the priest and/or parents.

Although some Hindu religious traditions require a spiritual teacher to be a male and/or Brahmin, for the purposes of this program, anyone may serve as a counselor. A counselor should be a practicing Hindu, knowledgeable in Hinduism and is approved at least by the parents.

However, a parent acting as a Saathi CANNOT act as a Bhakta for the same student.

If you can't find a Bhakta locally, please take a look at our list of Bhakta Volunteers.

Does each student and Saathi need a workbook?

Yes. Students are required to keep a personal record of their progress. Materials are copyrighted. Please do not duplicate them. Saathi (parent or guardian) can elect to complete the or Karma Saathi workbooks and earn the respective award

If the parents do not wish to earn the award, they may simply use the Saathi workbook to guide their student.

Does each counselor need a manual?

Yes. The Karma Bhakta manual is a guide to the program and not a workbook. It is understood that the Bhakta has adequate background to guide both the student and the Saathi and that he/she does this a suddha karma, that is without expectation of anything in return. In doing so, they serve as an excellent role model.

When students successfully complete the Karma program, they may choose to present a certificate of recognition and/or a Karma Bhakta pin to the Bhakta. Both recognitions may be presented at an appropriate ceremony.

How long will it take to complete?

The Karma award also has four sections, however each section is subdivided into 6 to 8 subsections. Each subsection can be completed over a weekend. Thus, Karma award requirements can usually be completed in six to eight months.

How do I get started?

Order Karma Award Workbooks and Badges